Chapter 24

Chapter 24 – Adopting Change and Chinese Food (final)

To avoid waking up Paige, we set up a sleeping bag Payton in Eli’s bedroom. Tomorrow we’ll pick up a toddler bed and she will start sleeping in Paige’s room. Their room. As if sleeping in a virtual stranger’s house is a regular occurrence, Payton climbs into the sleeping bag and lies down immediately after I tell her. Eli is excited about the impromptu sleepover and is bouncing on his bed.

I push Eli down gently and tell him to calm down, pulling his navy blue dump truck comforter up. Handing him Bunny, I plant a kiss on his cheek. “I love you,” I tell him, keenly aware of Payton on the floor next to his bed. Is she upset that Ruth and David aren’t here to give her kisses and tuck her in?

img_0550

I turn to Payton and kneel on the floor, flipping the sleeping bag over her small body. “Nighty night, Payton.” I hesitate; should I give her a hug? She doesn’t reach for me so I stand up.

Big Dog, the stuffed companion she has had since she was an infant, is tucked in beside her. He is a stuffed brown dog with flattened fur (she uses him as a pillow). His tag is worn to just a few threads because she rubs it between her fingers to relax and put herself to sleep. Sadly, I realize Big Dog is probably the only consistent, reliable thing in her turbulent young life.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 24 – Adopting Change and Chinese Food (final)

  1. Hi Lynn,
    I am really enjoying your story! In the first sentence you set up a sleeping bag *for* Payton…
    I can relate your your situation very well on many levels. I too am in the process of adopting through Fostercare. We brought our baby girl home from the hospital 21 months ago as a newborn. She had pre-natal drug exposure. We went through a roller coaster ride with the biological parents and their dysfunctional lives. We have also gotten to know the maternal biological grandparents and a half sibling in the process and are trying to forge a relationship with them. I understand being so drawn to the biological family (especially mother) and yet needing to be distant at the moment due to the extreme unhealthiness of their lifestyles. It is a crazy system and sometimes I can’t believe the turn my life has taken and the people/drama associated with it! We are thrilled to have an adoption date in May and to call this adorable, precious baby our own. I am anxious to hear more of your story and how you forge a relationship with the biological Grandmother and the biological parents.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting. I am glad you’re enjoying the story. You may enjoy my other blog, Written Reflections, which I post on each Thursday. It talks about various things, most often the day-to-day in foster-adoption parenting. You may especially enjoy a post titled “The Prodigal Birthmother Returns.” Thanks again for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

