Chapter 33

Chapter 33 – Matthew 25:35-40

RECAP: Ruth and David didn’t show up for the previous visit. Although concerned, thinking about it wasn’t a priority because Paige’s adoption was a couple weeks later. This chapter addresses Ruth and David’s absence.

CHAPTER 33
MATTHEW 25:35-40

May 2010: I’m mixed up inside right now; a lot of emotional turmoil. Glad they’re OK, pissed that they’re so messed up and not getting anywhere, sad that this has happened…

“I found out what happened to Ruth and David,” says Carole. We are standing outside church the following weekend. “Ruth’s car was found a half an hour north, abandoned.” Oh God, were their bodies inside? I brace myself for the worst. “They’re in jail.”

The following day, I peruse the county jail’s webpage. They were charged with possession of an illegal substance. There was also a warrant out for David’s arrest because he failed to appear in court for shoplifting charges. Their visiting hours are that evening, Ruth at 5:00 PM and David immediately afterwards at 5:30 PM.

World-compassion-background

painted least of these

A seed of insanity plants itself in my brain and takes root in my heart. A Bible passage plays in my head, an out-of-control mantra: “Whatever you did the least of my brothers, you did for me,” with the specific example, “I was in prison and you came to visit me (Matthew 25:43, 45).” I push the words away from the forefront of my mind, and they stubbornly push back. I know it’s useless; those words will echo inside me until I visit them.

Later that day I tell Andrew, “Ruth and David are in jail and their visiting hours are tonight.” Like everything else that has transpired since Ruth came into my life almost two years ago, I know this isn’t just coincidence. “I’m going to visit them when I get done working. If I leave right afterwards, I can make it in time for check in.”

Andrew examines me intently. He is no stranger to my faith-lead acts of kindness to Ruth and David. I know this is more than a little nuts, but sanity has never been one of my strengths. “Okay, I’ll find a sitter,” he finally says.

“You don’t have to go. I know you don’t care about this like I do.”

“I’m not letting you visit them alone.”

“What do you think is going to happen?” Laughing, I ask, “Do you think they’re going to try and break out?”

“I’m not letting you go alone,” Andrew repeats firmly.

I shrug. “Okay, fine, but I’m still going if you can’t find someone.”

Leave a Reply

