Adoption Talk · Writing Prompts

Adoption Is… (Adoption Talk Linkup)

ADOPTION IS…

Funny that is the topic for Erin Bohn’s Adoption Talk Linkup today. I just did a blog post for Transfiguring Adoption titled Loss and Acceptance in Adoption. I think the topic of my post is one thing that Adoption Is…

TA graphic

The thing I’ve learned during my walk through adoption and foster-adoption advocacy is that each person’s story and feelings are different. It seems like that would go without saying; however, I never realized…

  • How important it is for adopted children to have access to their original birth certificates.
  • There are people who are adamantly against adoption.
  • Some children are unsettled until they have contact with their biological family while others couldn’t care less.
  • The pain and guilt I would feel for Ruth’s loss, and how connected I would feel to her.
  • The lifelong hole biological mothers feel after placing a child for adoption.

For me, Adoption Is a bittersweet adventure. There is so much joy and pain tied up together that I really cannot separate the two. It can also be very stressful and make me question my ability to be a good parent.

But it is also full of love:

  • Love for my daughters, who have made so much progress.
  • Love for my son, who is a wonderful brother and understands their challenges.
  • Love for my husband, who is an exceptional father, and has been with me to share the laughter and tears.
  • Love for my daughters’ biological mother, who gave me the gift of two daughters.
  • Love for my extended family, who have been supportive from the beginning.
  • Love for my neighborhood community and the school the kids attend, who are flexible and don’t hesitate to accommodate our daughters’ unique needs.

I think if I had to summarize adoption, it would be:

Adoption Is a bittersweet adventure of love and loss.

What is adoption to you?

6 thoughts on “Adoption Is… (Adoption Talk Linkup)

Leave a Reply

